Writing And Growing

Photo by Bookblock on Unsplash

I’ve been trying something new – a writing course. It has been hard and humbling but also beautiful. It’s something I am doing just for me. During the interview process, before getting accepted into the course, I was asked what my goal is with writing. If I’m being honest, I don’t have one. Sure, I would like to carve out more time to write but we are in a season that often doesn’t feel feasible. I’d also like to grow in my writing but that isn’t a very measurable goal. What does growth truly look like? Correcting my erred use of commas? I guess that wouldn’t hurt. 

Our first unit in the class was on “Order”. We were asked to read different pieces and then submit a personal narrative/essay. There is a lot about that unit and the critique night that came with it I still need to unpack but for now, let’s just say it was humbling in every sense. The work poured into a piece that then was picked apart by people I had only met a few short weeks before felt overwhelming. The second unit was “Story”. We read captivating pieces of fiction and short story and were asked to produce one of our own to submit. Again, I poured out and came away empty, comments blowing around in my head like a blizzard, threatening to freeze me. Then came the “Truth” unit. I had the least amount of time to devote to the required persuasive essay and yet, for the first time, my work was received with more positives than negatives. I wrote about something I enjoy. Something I am passionate about. So while the overall time spent on it had been significantly less, I knew what I was talking about. I enjoyed what I was talking about. And it showed. 

The most recent unit, “Beauty”, was one I faced down with dread. Poetry. I have harbored feelings of hatred towards poetry since my very first English class in my freshman year of college. It was that class (plus a stellar and engaging History professor) that convinced me I would be a terrible English teacher and should ditch the subject altogether in favor of History. Because who needs correct grammar with History? I can pretend I’m using Old English (pre-dictionary English)!

The poetry we were asked to read didn’t particularly move me. The pieces were fine but nothing I latched onto with the passion of the speakers. Then came the writing assignment: one Shakespearean Sonnet, three Haiku, and one Free Verse Poem. Oh dear. Over dinner one night, I joked about simply quoting Haiku out of a movie we watched years ago and really enjoyed, Hunt for the Wilderpeople (2016). An idea formed. What if I wrote my Haiku about the movie, and my experience with it? We watched the movie sometime after Verity. A season that felt very much void of joy and laughter, and yet, the movie made me laugh. Deep, belly laugh. 

I wrote these poems as a way of processing the resounding impact books, movies, and songs have had on my life. In them, I found a joy in poetry ignited again. I came away from critique night feeling the most at peace I have since beginning the course. A new layer of healing has begun. Something beautiful is emerging out of the hard and the humbling. I am growing. 


Theme of the Collection: The Impact of Books, Movies, and Songs

Free Verse (adapted from an original Sonnet format that will never be shown because it was ROUGH) 
Title: The Resounding Depth of Words
Words linger, 
though the medium varies.
Expressions are chosen, 
then released to be found. 

Pouring from speakers, 
straight into the soul. 
Crisp pages turn gently, 
adventures abound. 
Scripts come alive, 
through soft blue-hued light. 

Each piece leaving behind
its own unique stamp. 

Deep sadness, 
pure joy, 
heart’s longing,
hope.

Characters laugh, 
melodies play. 
These things may seem small, 
but offer connection. 

Words linger, 
though the medium varies. 
Expressions are chosen, 
holding great power.
Haiku 
Title of the collection: Laughter
Movie with haiku
Hunt for the Wilderpeople
New Zealand ᐧ laughter

My soul was made for
Appreciating laughter
Amidst life’s sorrows

Surprised by laughter
In the dark night of the soul
With joy hope springs new
Free Verse*
Title: I Was Listening to a Song
If the world was ending
Wish the wind would blow me
Next to you
Safe and sound
You restore my soul

Where feet may fail
I will sing
Hallelujah anyway

Fear not
Truth is
Light’s always stronger
Always

You say
Hold on to me 
Lay it all down 
Hang on
Persevere

Look who I found

*(Let me know if you figure out what I did here!)

Leave a comment