For a Weekend You Were Mine

đź“·: Lorenzo Hammers via Unsplash

8/21/23

I miss you already and I barely knew you.

For a weekend you were mine.

For a weekend I loved you and dreamed of who you might become.

For a weekend my imagination rejoiced at the thought of you playing with your sister.

The one here with us.

But instead you’ll join your older sister.

There are a lot of things I hope for in what comes after this life.

So much is unknown and uncertain.

I don’t think we’re meant to know.

I’m not sure we could handle the knowing.

But that doesn’t stop me from hoping.

I hope I get to know you.

I hope you and Verity will be right there to greet me and my arms will finally feel full again.

Because right now, no matter how much joy your sister Jovie brings, my arms never quite feel full.

For a weekend my arms were ready to hold you.

For a weekend you were mine.

It was a beautiful weekend.

🤍, Mom

One thought on “For a Weekend You Were Mine

Leave a comment